Parish Council Contents

Contact Details


Minutes of the Last Meeting

Parish Council Elections

Agenda of Next Meeting (pdf file)

Agenda of Annual Parish Meeting

Parish Council Archive: Minutes of Previous Council Meetings


Parish Council

Proposed housing developments in Appleby Magna

Notes from the meeting held with the developers on 14th August (pdf)

Notes from the public forum on 1st August, at which this issue was discussed, are included in the Parish Council minutes from that date here

The Parish Council meets on the first Thursday of each month, with the exception of July and January when there are no meetings. Meetings are held in the Community Room at Sir John Moore Foundation and begin at 7.30pm.  Members of the public are welcome to attend. There is a 15 minute public session at the start of each meeting

The April meeting is also the Annual Parish Meeting at which the public and community groups are encouraged to share their views and talk about their activities. The May meeting is the Annual Parish Council Meeting (equivalent to an AGM), when the chairman and vice chairman are elected for the year.

Our parish councillors are elected every four years, if required. There is no election if the number of nominees does not exceed the number of councillors required.

The Clerk of the Parish Council is not elected. This is the equivalent of an officer in local government and is a paid, part-time position. The clerk prepares agendas and minutes of the meetings, undertakes administrative and clerical duties on behalf of the councillors, and is trained to provide advice and guidance on certain issues such as legal requirements and responsibilities of the council.

Contact Details

Clerk to the Parish Council:

Lindsay Swinfield
Barn 5, Home Farm, Church Street, Swepstone, Leics LE67 2SA
Telephone number: 01530 273421
Email: applebymagnapc @
(remove gaps)

Parish Councillors:

Paul Hemmerdinger (chairman) & Marion Hemmerdinger

Cartref, 37 Top Street, Appleby Magna, Swadlincote, Derbyshire DE12 7AH
Tel: 01530 272146
Email: paulhemmerdinger @

Deana Morris

Sir John Moore School, Stables Community Room, Top Street, Appleby Magna DE12 7AH
Tel: 07974 260453
Email: deana @

Richard Butler

4 Moore Close, Appleby Magna, Swadlincote  DE12 7AT
Tel: 01530 270848 (07768697471)
Email: enquire @

Peter Smith

4 Garton Close, Appleby Magna, Swadlincote DE12 7AU
Tel: 01530 272414 or 272061
Email: petersmith @

Gerald Pott

Redhill Farm, Top Street, Swadlincote, DE12 7AH
Tel: 01530 271643
Email: Gerald @


Back to Top